Follow-up on an existing tip.
Take a Bite Out!
How it Works
Crime of the Week
Unsolved Crimes
Missing Persons
Wanted Suspects
News & Events
School Program
Dave Benton Crime Fighter Award Nomination Form
Frequently Asked Questions
Crime Awareness
Support Us
About Us
Our Friends
External Links
Contact Us
2017 Raffle Winners

About Us

Champaign County Crime Stoppers has been serving our community for 30 years! The program remains very effective and has had another successful year of fighting crime. The Crime Stoppers Board credits the program's continued success to the public. The Crime Stoppers program began in May of 1986 and has assisted local law enforcement agencies in solving over 1,100 cases and paid out cash rewards in excess of $56,000.

The Crime Stoppers program was designed to reduce the amount of crime and the number of unsolved crimes in Champaign County. The community is the key to the success of Crime Stoppers and the program would not exist without the help of concerned citizens and the local media. According to Sgt. Geoff Coon (Champaign Police Department), "The board of directors is pleased with the on-going support from the citizens and the media outlets who have shown a strong commitment to solving crime in Champaign County."

Crime Stoppers would like to remind the community that cash rewards are paid for information on unsolved crimes, pending crimes, and fugitives. Crime Stoppers pays cash rewards of up to $1,000 for tips that lead to an arrest. Tipsters remain completely anonymous when providing information to Crime Stoppers, whether by our TIPS phone line or web tip.

For further information, please contact John Hecker, President of the Crime Stoppers Board, at (217) 356-8391 or Sgt. Geoff Coon at (217)351-4545.

Mission Statement

Crime Stoppers is comprised of diverse, active and dedicated community representatives. Crime Stoppers provides a method for local law enforcement to receive information on crimes. These efforts increase tips, which in turn increase arrests in our community. |

Key Board Members

John Hecker      President
Dawn Coyne      Vice President
Karen Foster      Secretary
Barbara Payne      Treasurer
Geoff Coon      Coordinator/Law Enforcement Liason

Champaign County Crime Stoppers Board of Directors
Leslie Adams, Busey Bank
David Bailie - retired attorney
John Bridgman, F.E. Moran Security Systems
Kirk Builta, Champaign County Farm Bureau Foundation
Marc Changnon, Champaign Unit 4 Schools
Matt Clark, Parkland Representative-law enforcement

Dawn Coyne, Keller-Williams Realty
Kris Fitzpatrick - retired-law enforcement
Karen Foster - retired-education/government
Steve Gray, Carmack Car Capital
Mike Hagan, BPC
Jeff Hamilton, City of Champaign
John Hecker, Stipes Publishing Company
Cain Kiser, Adams Outdoor
Daniel Kunde - U of I Representative - law enforcement
Leon Lomax - retired-Kraft Foods
Janet Maupin, Champaign Fire Department
Nancy Merz, retired - Busey Bank
Mary Mullen, Champaign Police Department (civilian)
Holly Nearing - retired-law enforcement
Barbara Payne - retired-American Red Cross
Sue Salzman - retired - City of Champaign
Gary Spear, retired - Champaign Police Department
Carol Vorel, WDWS-WHMS Radio
Patrick Wade, U of I Police Dept. (civilian)

Non-Voting Members:
Sgt. Geoff Coon, Champaign Police Department
Deputy Chief Troy Daniels, Champaign Police Department

All Site Content / Copyright © 2017 / Champaign County Crime Stoppers
Dynamic WebSite Design / Copyright © 2017 / Anderson Software